مسكنالفعالياتريكوردزمساحاتMDLBEAST Radioمؤسسة مدل بيستالتوظيف


صناعة الموسيقى

مكان الموسيقى السعودي يسلط الضوء على الفنانين الناشئين


بواسطة Riham Issa

ن 12 2023

صناعة الموسيقى

مكان الموسيقى السعودي يسلط الضوء على الفنانين الناشئين


بواسطة Riham Issa

ن 12 2023

على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية، عندما أصبحت العروض الحية مسموحة في المملكة العربية السعودية، شهدت الحياة الليلية النابضة بالحياة في السعودية طفرة في الأماكن الموسيقية المتناغمة ثقافيًا، مما يوفر للمواهب الشابة الصاعدة منصة لمشاركة حرفتهم. أحد هذه المساحات الإبداعية المخصصة لعرض المواهب الموسيقية المتنوعة وتخصيص مكان للتراث الموسيقي للمملكة هو The Warehouse.

يقع The Warehouse في منطقة جاكس بالرياض، متلألئًا بأضوائه الأرجوانية الضبابية وأجوائه المريحة المفعمة بالحيوية، ويعزز بيئة آمنة ومستدامة للفنانين الناشئين لممارسة موسيقاهم بحرية وأداء موسيقاهم مباشرة، مما يمهد الطريق لجيل جديد من أصوات منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا لتلمع.

dark stage

تأسست صالة الموسيقى المجتمعية في عام 2022 على يد منسق الأغاني والمنتج الموسيقي محمد عطاس، وقد ولدت من تجربته الخاصة كفنان شاب مكافح يجوب البلاد بحثًا عن أماكن يمكنه من خلالها عرض براعته الموسيقية.

في وقت سابق من هذا العام، أطلق المكان السعودي مبادرة لدعم الفنانين المحليين من جميع الخلفيات من خلال عرض جميع المواهب المتنوعة التي شرفت مسرحهم في مكتبة رقمية واسعة النطاق على تطبيق انستاغرام. تحت عنوان "TWH تقدم"، تتميز المنصة بعروض حية لعدد كبير من المواهب السعودية مثل زمزم، وغادة شيري، وفرقة الروك النسائية بالكامل، SEERA على سبيل المثال.

خلال لقاء افتراضي مع SceneNoise، شارك عطاس القصة وراء The Warehouse، وبعض عروضه الحية المفضلة التي استضافوها حتى الآن، وكل ما يعرفه عن مشهد الترفيه السعودي المتطور.

peace sign

ما هي الرؤية الرئيسية وراء The Warehouse؟

تنبع الرؤية وراء The Warehouse من الحاجة الجماعية بين الفنانين في المملكة للحصول على مساحة مخصصة يمكنهم من خلالها استضافة عروضهم الحية والتعبير عن أنفسهم بحرية. بعد أن أدركنا عدم وجود أماكن موسيقية كافية، كنا نهدف إلى تعزيز بيئة لرعاية المواهب الموسيقية الصاعدة من خلال منحهم الفرصة لعرض براعتهم الموسيقية.


كيف اصبح The Warehouse؟

بدأت في إنتاج الموسيقى الخاصة بي ومشاركتها على SoundCloud حوالي عام 2015. ومن خلال هذه المنصة، تواصلت مع فنانين آخرين شاركوني نفس الشغف في صناعة الموسيقى، وشكلنا مجتمعًا متماسكًا. بدأنا في استكشاف جوانب مختلفة من الموسيقى، بدءًا من تعلم الآلات المختلفة وحتى كل ما يتعلق بإنتاج الموسيقى ومزجها وإتقانها.

ومع ذلك، مع نمونا، واجهنا تحديات في العثور على أماكن مناسبة للأداء أو الممارسة. في عام 2020، بدأنا في إجراء بحث مكثف، حيث التقينا بالعديد من زملائنا الموسيقيين لمناقشة ما ينقص صناعة الموسيقى السعودية، وكيف يمكننا تغيير ذلك والحفاظ على صناعة الموسيقى كمهنة وأسلوب حياة. وذلك عندما توصلنا إلى فكرة إنشاء The Warehouse.


Playing the piano

ما الذي يجلبه The Warehouse إلى المشهد الموسيقي في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا؟

تمتلك المملكة العربية السعودية ثروة من المواهب الموسيقية الخفية التي تقتصر في المقام الأول على منصات الإنترنت. منذ أن أنشأنا The Warehouse، شهدنا تدفقًا ملحوظًا للفنانين الناشئين ذوي المواهب الاستثنائية الذين يزينون مسرحنا في عروضهم الحية الأولى. يأتي هؤلاء الأفراد المبدعون بفارغ الصبر لمشاركة موسيقاهم وقصصهم معنا.

نحن ملتزمون بالحفاظ باستمرار على منصة موثوقة ترعى الموسيقيين الطموحين، وتسمح لهم بالنمو والتعبير عن أنفسهم من خلال الموسيقى والتواصل مع الأفراد المبدعين ذوي التفكير المماثل.

singing

كيف تقوم برعاية الفنانين الذين يعرضون أعمالهم في The Warehouse؟ هل يعتمد على مجموعة محددة من المتطلبات أم على نوع موسيقي؟

نستضيف بانتظام ليالي الميكروفون المفتوحة، حيث نكتشف المواهب الجديدة ذات الإمكانات الكبيرة. ثم نقدم لهم فرصة الحصول على عرض خاص بهم في مكاننا، حيث لديهم الحرية في اختيار التواريخ المفضلة لديهم.

performing

ما الذي يدفع The Warehouse لمواصلة مهمته المتمثلة في تسليط الضوء على الفنانين المنتفضين في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا؟

نحن نؤمن بأن لدينا الكثير من المواهب الخفية التي لم يتم اكتشافها بعد، ونحن في مهمة تتمثل في منحهم منصة مخصصة للمساعدة في نموهم والعمل بمثابة دفعة يحتاجون إليها بشدة للتعرف على عالم عالمي أوسع. جمهور. ما يدفعنا أيضًا لمواصلة مهمتنا هو الإيمان الراسخ بأن الجيل القادم من النجوم يمكن أن يأتي من منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، وسوف يأتي، إنها مجرد مسألة وقت حتى يحدث ذلك.

كيف يختلف The Warehouse عن الأماكن الموسيقية الأخرى في المملكة العربية السعودية؟ ما الذي يميزه؟

في The Warehouse، نعمل وفقًا لنموذج الإيرادات المئوية، مما يضمن حصول فناني الأداء على ما يصل إلى 60% من دخل التذاكر. هذا النهج غير شائع نسبيًا في صناعة الترفيه الموسيقي السعودية.

نحن نحتضن مجموعة واسعة من أنواع الموسيقى، بما في ذلك موسيقى الجاز والهيب هوب والشرقي والريغي وغيرها الكثير. مساحتنا مجهزة تجهيزًا جيدًا لاستيعاب أنواع الموسيقى المختلفة، بسعة تصل إلى 350 فردًا. نحن أيضًا حريصون جدًا على الحفاظ على بيئة مفتوحة وشاملة وجذابة للجميع.

laghing

ما هو برنامجك المباشر المفضل من بين العروض التي استضفتها حتى الآن، ولماذا؟

من الصعب حقًا تسمية اسم واحد فقط... إنه أمر صعب حقًا.

حسنًا، أخبرك بأمر، أفضل خمس مفضلات لدي هي Garwasha، Majaz، SEERA، Gimmix، Kilo77، وGood Company.

كانت عروضهم ممتلئة، وكانت الأجواء مفعمة بالحيوية وكانت العروض لا تشوبها شائبة، وكان بإمكانك رؤية الإثارة والفرحة بوضوح على وجوه الفنانين والجمهور. كان المكان بأكمله صاخبًا وكان الجميع يقضون وقتًا ممتعًا، وهذا هو جوهر الموسيقى حقًا.

ما هو مستقبل The Warehouse وإلى أين يتجه؟ هل هناك أي مشاريع مثيرة تعمل عليها حاليًا ويمكنك مشاركتها معنا؟

نخطط حاليًا لإطلاق أكبر مكتبة محلية على YouTube، تضم مجموعة من الفنانين والموسيقيين الموهوبين الذين سبق لهم عرض أعمالهم في The Warehouse. سيتم منح الفنانين 50% من حقوق البث.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، نهدف إلى التعاون مع القنوات العالمية المرموقة لتوسيع نطاق هذه الأصوات الجديدة للمملكة العربية السعودية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

man with hat

شارك

HomeEventsRadioRecords


Music Industry

The Warehouse: The Saudi Music Venue Spotlighting Emerging Artists


By Riham Issa

November 12 2023

Music Industry

The Warehouse: The Saudi Music Venue Spotlighting Emerging Artists


By Riham Issa

November 12 2023

Over the past few years, as live performances became permissible in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the vibrant Saudi nightlife has witnessed a surge in culturally attuned music venues, offering rising young talents a platform to share their craft. One such creative space dedicated to showcasing diverse musical talents and carving out a place for the Kingdom’s musical heritage is The Warehouse.

Nestled in Riyadh’s JAX District, glimmering with its purple-haze flashing lights and lively cosy ambiance, The Warehouse is fostering a safe and sustainable environment for emerging artists to freely practise and perform their music live, paving the way for a new generation of MENA sounds to come.

Dark stage

Established in 2022 by DJ and music producer Mohammed Attas, the community-driven music lounge was born out of his own experience as a struggling young artist scouring the nation for venues where he could put his musical prowess on display.

Earlier this year, the Saudi venue launched an initiative to support local artists of all backgrounds by showcasing all of the diverse talents who graced their stage in one extensive digital library on Instagram. Titled ‘TWH introduces’, the platform features live performances by a slew of Saudi talents such as ZamZam, Ghada Sheri, and the all-female rock band, SEERA just to name a few.

During a virtual sit-down with SceneNoise, Attas shared the story behind The Warehouse, some of his favourite live shows they hosted so far, and everything he knows about the evolving Saudi entertainment scene.

peace sign

What is the main vision behind The Warehouse? 

The vision behind The Warehouse stems from a collective need among artists in the Kingdom to have a dedicated space where they can host their live performances and express themselves freely. Upon recognizing the lack of enough music venues, we aimed to foster an environment to nurture rising musical talents by providing them with the opportunity to showcase their musical prowess. 

How did The Warehouse come to be? 

I started producing my own music and sharing it on SoundCloud circa 2015. Through this platform, I connected with other artists who shared the same passion for making music, and we formed a close-knit community. We started exploring different facets of music, from learning different instruments to everything related to music production, mixing and mastering. 

However, as we grew, we faced challenges in finding suitable places to perform or practice. In 2020, we started doing extensive research,  where we met up with a lot of fellow musicians to discuss what is really missing from the Saudi music industry, and how we can change that and sustain making music as a career and lifestyle. That’s when we came up with the idea of creating The Warehouse. 

Playing the piano

What is The Warehouse bringing to the MENA music scene?

Saudi Arabia has a wealth of hidden musical talents primarily confined to online platforms. Since we established The Warehouse, we have witnessed a remarkable influx of emerging artists with exceptional talents gracing our stage for their debut live performances. These creative individuals eagerly come to share their music and stories with us. 

We are committed to consistently maintaining a reliable platform which nurtures aspiring musicians, allowing them to grow, express themselves through music, and connect with like-minded creative individuals. 

singing

How do you curate artists who showcase at The Warehouse? Is it based on a specific set of requirements or a music genre?

We regularly host open mic nights, where we discover fresh talents with great potential. We then offer them an opportunity to have their own showcase at our venue, for which they have the liberty to select their preferred dates.

performing

What fuels The Warehouse to continue its mission of spotlighting uprising MENA artists? 

We believe that we have a lot of hidden talents that are yet to be discovered, and we are on a mission to give them a designated platform to aid their growth and act as a much-needed push for them to gain exposure to a wider global audience. What also drives us to continue our mission is a firm belief that the next generation of superstars can and will come from the MENA region, it’s just a matter of time till it happens. 

How is The Warehouse different from other music venues in Saudi Arabia? What sets it apart?

At The Warehouse, we operate on a percentage revenue model, ensuring that performers receive up to 60% of the ticket income. This approach is relatively uncommon in the Saudi music entertainment industry.

We embrace a wide spectrum of music genres, encompassing jazz, hip-hop, sharqi, and reggae, among many more. Our space is well-equipped to accommodate different music genres, with a capacity of up to 350 individuals. We are also really careful to maintain an open inclusive and inviting environment for all. 

laghing

What is your favourite live show from the acts you have hosted so far, and why?

It’s really hard to name just one... it’s really difficult. 

Okay, tell you what, my ultimate top five favourites are Garwasha, Majaz, SEERA, Gimmix, Kilo77, and Good Company.

Their shows were a full house, the ambiance was electric and the performances were impeccable, and you could clearly see the excitement and joy on the faces of both the artists and the audience. The entire venue was buzzing and everybody was having a good time, and this is what music is really about. 


What is the future of The Warehouse and where is it heading? Are there any exciting projects you are currently working on that you can share with us? 

We are currently planning to launch the largest local library on YouTube, featuring an ensemble of talented artists and musicians who have previously showcased at The Warehouse. The artists will be granted 50% of the streaming royalties. 

In addition to this, we are aiming to collaborate with revered international channels to expand the reach of these new sounds of Saudi Arabia across the globe.

man with hat

Share this