مسكنالفعالياتريكوردزمساحاتمؤسسة مدل بيست


صناعة الموسيقى

الآلات الوترية: حياكة النسيج الموسيقي


بواسطة MDLBEAST

أ 19 2023

صناعة الموسيقى

الآلات الوترية: حياكة النسيج الموسيقي


بواسطة MDLBEAST

أ 19 2023

تحتل الآلات الوترية مكانة خاصة في سيمفونية التعبير الموسيقي الرحبة، ذلك بما تشمله من ألحان العود العربي، والكمان، والتشيلو، وغيرها من الآلات الوترية، التي تحبك جزءاً خلاباً من النسيج الموسيقي الغني. 

تابع قراءة هذا المقال لتكتشف بعض الآلات الوترية بالتفصيل، ومميزات صوتها، ودور كل منها في مختلف أنواع الموسيقى، إضافة إلى دور شركة مدل بيست في الاحتفاء بالآلات الوترية، خاصة عبر مهرجانها الموسيقي: ساوندستورم. 

العود العربي

للعود تاريخ عريق، حيث يعود أصله إلى أكثر من ألف عام، ويُلقّب بـ "ملك الآلات الموسيقية" في الموسيقى العربية، لما له من أهمية حضارية وثقافية. يتميز العود بشكله الكمثري وصندوق صوت رنان، تصدر منه ألحان دافئة، يحسّ معها المستمع بالحنين للذكريات، ما يشكّل أساساً ساحراً للكثير من المقطوعات الموسيقية. 

يحتوي العود على لوحة نقر الأصابع، ولكنه لا يحتوي على دساتين، ما يسمح للعازف بضبط اللحن بشكل دقيق، ويمكّنه من التعبير عن مختلف المشاعر عبر الأوتار. وعلى الرغم من التغيرات التي مرّ بها العود من ناحية الصوت، والحجم، والضبط، إلا أنّ ذلك لم يغير من دوره الجوهري في تشكيل الموسيقى العربية التقليدية، حيث يولّد صوت هذه الآلة الوترية الشعور بالحنين ويبني الرابطة العاطفية بينها وبين المستمع.

الكمان

العود في الشرق، والكمان في الغرب. تتكوّن هذه الآلة الوترية من أربعة أوتار، وتتميز بانحناءات رقيقة وألحان راقية، تجعل منها حجر الأساس في الموسيقى الكلاسيكية. لقد صنع الحرفيان أنطونيو ستراديفاري ونيكولو باغانيني آلات كمان قد أحدثتْ ثورة في القدرة الموسيقية لهذه الآلة الوترية بشكل لا مثيل له.

إنّ الكمان آلة وترية محببة بفعل قدرتها التعبيرية عن الأسى، والبهجة، والحنين، سواء كان العزف عليها منفرداً أم ضمن فرقة أوركسترا. ولقد تخطى الكمان بفعل قوة تعبيره الموسيقي ومرونته الموسيقى الكلاسيكية، وأصبح جزءاً ضرورياً من مختلف الأنواع الموسيقية، ومنها الجاز، والفولك، والروك.  

التشيلو

على الرغم من التشابه بين الكمان والتشيلو، إلا أنّ لكل منهما صوت عاطفي خاص به. يتميز التشيلو بحجمه الكبير، الذي يمكّنه من إنتاج الألحان الدافئة، والغنية، والمتناغمة التي ينجذب لها المستمعون. يمتدّ النطاق التعبيري للتشيلو من الرثاء الحزين إلى الألحان المبهجة، مما يجعله جزءاً أساسياً في فرق الأوركسترا الكلاسيكية وموسيقى الحُجرة.

كما تمكّنت آلة التشيلو من تخطي الحدود الفاصلة بين الأنواع الموسيقية بفضل قدرتها التعبيرية، فتجد ألحانها في المقطوعات الحديثة، والموسيقى السينمائية، وحتى في موسيقى فرق الروك، ذلك من أجل توليد المشاعر لدى المستمعين. 

الجيتار

تحتوي معظم أنواع الجيتار الدساتين، مثل الجيتار الأكوستك، على عكس الآلات الوترية المذكورة أعلاه. تجدر الإشارة إلى أنّ الدساتين قصبات معدنية أو أسلاك ذات سُمك موحّد، تعبُر أوتار الآلات الوترية بزوايا قائمة، ويكمُن دورها في تمكين العازف من إصدار نغمات متنوعة من خلال تقليل طول اهتزاز الأوتار.

الجيتار رمز للتنوع، سواءً كان صوتياً أو كهربائياً؛ إذ إنّ أوتاره الستة ذات نطاق تعبيري لانهائي. ولقد قام فنانون كبار أمثال Jimi Hendrix، و Eric Clapton، و Paco de Luca بتخطي حدود الأنواع الموسيقية باستخدام الجيتار، والانتقال بسلاسة من موسيقى البلوز، إلى موسيقى الروك أو الفلامنكو. وما يزال الجيتار حتى اليوم أكثر الآلات الموسيقية الوترية شعبية في العالم، بفضل إمكاناته اللانهائية في التكيف الموسيقي.

الفيولا أو الكمان المتوسط 

على الرغم من طغيان الكمان والتشيلو على الكمان المتوسط، والمعروف أيضاً باسم "فيولا"، إلا أنّ له سحره الخاص. الفيولا أكبر حجماً من الكمان، ويختلفان عن بعضهما في المفاتيح الموسيقية. لألحان الفيولا الدافئة والهادئة دور أساسي في مقطوعات الأوركسترا، حيث يضيف صوت هذه الآلة الوترية الغني العمق لأي مقطوعة، ما يجعل من أنغامها رواية موسيقية حيوية. ومع أنّ الفيولا لا تحصل على الصدارة، إلا أنها تلعب دوراً هاماً في النسيج السيمفوني، مما يساهم في عظمة التراكيب الكلاسيكية.

مرونة الآلات الوترية في الموسيقى الحديثة

تشهد الأنواع الموسيقية عملية إعادة تعريف مستمرة بفعل التجربة الحيوية في مجال الدمج الموسيقي. مثال على هذه التجربة، الفنانة كيان دي جي، الفنانة السعودية الرائدة في الدمج بين الكمان والموسيقى الإلكترونية في المنطقة العربية. 

إنّ أسلوبها الموسيقي المميز، والذي يدمج العوامل الشرقية والغربية، مكّنها من أداء عرض في المهرجان الموسيقي الأيقوني، ساوندستورم، في الرياض، والذي تم تقديمه من خلال شركة مدل بيست، التي تحتفي  بالتنوع الموسيقي من خلال استضافة الفنانين من كافة الجنسيات ومن مختلف الأنواع الموسيقية ليقوموا بعرض ما لديهم من فن، وصوت، وتكنولوجيا. 

قالت كيان أنها ترتجل عروض الكمان على خشبة المسرح وفقاً للمشاعر التي تستشعرها من الجمهور. "لا أحفظ قطعة مسبقاً لأعزفها على الكمان، بل ارتجل  العزف حسب ما أشعر به على المسرح، ذلك حسب طاقة الجمهور، حيث أدرسه وأتواصل معه، وهو يلهم صوتي."

يعتبر مهرجان ساوندستورم الموسيقى لغة عالمية، تحتفل بالترابط بين أنواع الآلات والأنواع الموسيقية المختلفة. ومع تطور دور الآلات الوترية في الموسيقى المعاصرة، تظلّ أوتارها وأصواتها أساساً دائماً لابتكار جمال اللحن، والانسجام، والإيقاع.


شارك

HomeEventsRecordsVenuesMDLBEAST foundation


Music Industry

String Instruments: Weaving the Fabric of Music


By MDLBEAST

October 19 2023

Music Industry

String Instruments: Weaving the Fabric of Music


By MDLBEAST

October 19 2023

In the vast symphony of musical expression, string instruments hold a special place. From the Arabian  oud's haunting melodies to the soaring heights of the violin and the resonant depths of the cello, these instruments have been instrumental in crafting the intricate tapestry of music.

In this exploration, we will explore the enchanting world of string instruments, their unique voices, and their roles in different musical genres. We'll also touch upon the innovative spirit of companies like MDLBEAST and their groundbreaking Soundstorm festival, which celebrates the diverse array of string instruments and the music they help create.

The Mystical Arabic Oud

We’ve spoken before about the rich history of the Arabic oud, but we’ll start the journey through the realm of string instruments with it here. The oud is an instrument steeped in history, with origins dating back over a thousand years. It’s often referred to as the "king of instruments" in Arabic music because of its cultural importance.

Its pear-shaped body and resonant soundhole create a warm and evocative tone that provides a base for many compositions. The oud's fretless fingerboard allows for intricate ornamentation and quarter-tone tuning, enabling musicians to express a wide range of emotions through its strings.

Though it’s evolved over the years in sound, size, and tuning, what remains consistent is the pivotal role it’s played in shaping the rich traditions of Arabic music. The haunting melodies of the oud can elicit warm, nostalgic feelings in listeners, even those with no particular sentimental history attached to them.

The Eloquent Violin

Moving from the East to the West, the violin takes center stage. This four-stringed instrument, with its delicate curves and graceful tones, is a cornerstone of classical music. Master craftsmen like Antonio Stradivari and Niccolò Paganini have designed violins that have revolutionized the musical ability of the instrument for their unparalleled resonance. 

The violin's ability to evoke diverse emotions, from joy to sorrow and longing, has made it a beloved solo and ensemble instrument. Its expressiveness and versatility have transcended classical music making it an indispensable component of several different musical genres, including jazz, folk, and rock.

The Resonant Cello

Though related to the violin, the cello has its own distinct deep and soulful timbre. Its size and resonant body allow it to produce rich, warm tones and synchronous vibrations that listeners can profoundly connect to. 

The cello’s expressive range spans from mournful lamentations to exhilarated melodies, making it an essential part of classical orchestras and chamber ensembles. Its ability to transcend musical genres allows it to shine in contemporary pieces, film scores, and even rock bands to provide nuance and emotion.

Guitar Strings: A World of Possibilities

The world of string instruments expanded further with the introduction of the guitar. Each instrument mentioned up until now has been fretless - frets are metal rods or wires of uniform thickness that cross the strings at right angles - and allow the instrument to create a range of pitches by reducing the length of vibration of the strings. However, most guitars, including the most notable - the acoustic guitar, have frets.

The guitar is a symbol of versatility, whether acoustic or electric. The infinite range of expression, from delicate fingerstyle to blazing solos, is made possible by its six strings. Legends like Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, and Paco de Luca have shattered genre boundaries, seamlessly transitioning from blues to rock to flamenco. Its endless potential and adaptability continue to make it one of the most popular instruments in the world.

The Noble Viola

Though often overshadowed by its counterparts, the violin and cello, the viola has its own unique charm. Slightly larger than the violin and tuned a fifth lower, the viola's warm, mellow tones fill a crucial role in the orchestral landscape. Its rich sound adds depth and fullness to ensembles, creating harmonies that weave intricate musical narratives.

While the viola may not always take the spotlight, it plays an essential part in the symphonic tapestry, contributing to the grandeur of classical compositions.

The Versatility of String Instruments in the Contemporary Music Landscape

As musicians experiment and merge styles, genres are continually being redefined. Kayan, a Saudi DJ, producer, and violinist, is pioneering the marriage of violin and electronic music in the region. 

Her unique approach combines Eastern and Western elements and has led her to perform on the iconic Soundstorm festival stage in Riyadh. The festival, hosted by MDLBEAST, celebrates the diversity of music by bringing together artists from around the world across various genres to showcase sound, art, and technology. 

Kayan says she improvises her violin on-stage performances, feeding off the crowd's emotions. “When I play the violin, I don’t have a piece that I just memorize and come and play. I improvise what I feel in the moment and how the energy of the crowd is. I study it and connect with it and it inspires my sound,”

The festival underlines music as a universal language that can bridge gaps and celebrate the interconnectedness of different types of musical instruments and styles. As string instruments evolve in contemporary music, they remain an enduring testament to the beauty of melody, harmony, and rhythm—the essence of the human soul expressed through strings and sound.


Share this